SQL Server 2012 (“Denali”): New Certifications

According to the post SQL Server “Denali” Experts–We Need You! that asks for your feedback on the Microsoft certifications for the next version of SQL Server, there will be seven exams:

Four certification exams are planned for SQL Server 2012, code named “Denali”, Business Intelligence roles:

  • Writing queries with Transact-SQL (T-SQL)
  • ETL Developer or Data Warehouse Developer. People in this role cleanse data using Data Quality Services, develop and manage ETL jobs and packages, and create and implement data warehouses.
  • BI Developer. People in this role implement multi-dimensional data models, implement and maintain OLAP cubes, and create information displays used in business decision making.
  • BI Architect. People in this role are responsible for the overall design of the BI infrastructure, including how it relates to other data systems in use.

Four certification exams are planned for SQL Server “Denali” database professionals who do not perform business intelligence functions:

  • Writing queries with Transact-SQL (T-SQL)
  • Implementing, Configuring, and Maintaining  Microsoft® SQL Server®
  • Building, Supporting, and Developing Databases for Microsoft® SQL Server®
  • Designing Database Solutions for Microsoft® SQL Server®

Since “Writing queries with Transact-SQL (T-SQL)” is required for both roles, and each role has three unique exams, that totals seven exams.  That is one more than SQL Server 2008 has, and splits into two roles (“Business Intelligence” and “Database Professionals”), while SQL Server 2008 has three roles (“Database Administrator”, “Database Developer”, and “Business Intelligence Developer”).

These new breakouts seem more logical for today’s environments, and give more importance to business intelligence, which is the direction Microsoft has been going for the last few years.  It will be interesting to see what “Upgrade Paths” Microsoft will have for those of us who have taken the SQL Server 2008 exams.

About James Serra

James is a big data and data warehousing solution architect at Microsoft. Previously he was an independent consultant working as a Data Warehouse/Business Intelligence architect and developer. He is a prior SQL Server MVP with over 25 years of IT experience.
This entry was posted in Certification, SQL Server, SQL Server 2012, SQLServerPedia Syndication. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to SQL Server 2012 (“Denali”): New Certifications

  1. Hennie says:

    Interesting read! Din’t know about the borntolearn site. Thnx Hennie

  2. Pingback: SQL Server "Denali": CTP3 now available! | James Serra's Blog

  3. Pingback: Welcome to Anorak's Vision » Blog Archive » [PL] Pierwsze przecieki na temat certyfikacji z SQL Server “Denali”

  4. Pingback: SQL Server 2012: New Certifications | James Serra's Blog

  5. anan says:


    Any news of upgrade paths from 2008 to 2012?

  6. Pingback: SQL Server 2012: New Certification Info | James Serra's Blog